Redemption is Available

“This elegantly written SF series features believable characters and powerful situations. Stanton wastes no words in his approach to language, creating a deceptively simple style that is both appealing and lucid.” — Library Journal

The thrilling conclusion of the Bloodlight Chronicles trilogy. 

Steve Stanton - BloodlightSet in a world where global economic activity is carried out in a virtual-gaming realm, a blood-transmitted virus with rejuvenating effects has become a black-market staple, forcing infected “Eternals” into a tightly knit underground where they must hack the V-space for food and shelter. After their leader, Helena Sharp, begins to mysteriously degenerate and flees, the Eternal community is thrown into chaos, fearing that their immortality has ended.

When the young clone Niko discovers that her gifted daughter carries the future heritage of humanity in her augmented DNA, she travels home to confront her progenitor, Phillip Davis, with a litany of experimental abuse. Phillip has fully integrated his persona with the AI Beast who controls V-space, and with the aid of a charismatic avatar, he embarks on a program of manipulation and control that will redefine the boundaries of death and consciousness.

An interview with Steve Stanton is now online at Open Book Ontario.

An interview in his role as President of SF Canada is now online at CBC Books: Canada Writes.

A “writing tip” to career novelists is online as part of Sci-Fi Odyssey.

The Bloodlight Chronicles: Redemption is available wherever great books are sold, and via payday direct from ECWpress.com.

CZP Launches John Park’s Janus

JPJanusJohn Park’s novel Janus was launched by CZP on September 22 at Can*Con in Ottawa.

Psychological drama, mystery, Janus is both violent and lyrical as it follows conflicts of love and identity to a bitter climax and a somberly optimistic conclusion.

In the near future, Jon Grebbel arrives on the colony world of Janus and finds himself without memory of his life on Earth. It seems the journey has caused memory loss in many of Janus’s colonists. While Grebbel wants to start his new life, he wants his memory back, and starts treatments to restore his past. But he begins to doubt the glimpses of the past they reveal.

He meets Elinda, an earlier arrival, whose lover, Barbara, vanished and then was found lying in the woods apparently brain-damaged. Elinda has also lost her memories of Earth, but unlike Grebbel has abandoned the effort to recover them. Now their meeting brings them a glimpse of an experience they shared  back on Earth. . . .

From the front cover:

“In the tradition of Delany, Sturgeon, and Le Guin, but taking his place among contemporary voices like Watts, Vonarburg, Schroeder, and Huff, John Park brings strength, intelligence, and grace of narrative to bear in this novel of relationship and estrangement.”

          —Candas Jane Dorsey, author of Black Wine and A Paradigm of Earth,

                                   and winner of the Aurora, Tiptree, and Crawford Awards

Listed by Kirkus among “worthy runners-up” for the “can’t-miss” fantasy and science fiction books of October 2012.

where to buy Janushttp://chizinepub.com/books/janus.php

New Release: The Last Summoner

lastsummonerSF Canada member Nina Munteanu has recently released her new historical time-travel fantasy, The Last Summoner, about a baroness from 1400 Poland who discovers she can alter history.  “Vivianne Schoen, the young Baroness von Grunwald, makes the startling discovery that she can alter history – but not before she is branded a witch and must flee through a time-space tear. Now in an alternate France ruled by Teutonic Black Knights, she must decide how to remake history.”

The Last Summoner is available through Amazon, and is currently among the top ten bestselling titles in historical fantasy.

You can find Nina online at her site, The Alien Next Door.

Audiobook of Nina Munteanu’s “Outer Diverse” is OUT!

The audiobook of Nina Munteanu’s space thriller Outer Diverse was just released by Iambik Audiobooks.

outerdiverseOuter Diverse is the first book of the Splintered Universe Trilogy, set in and around the Milky Way Galaxy. The first book begins as Galactic Guardian Rhea Hawke intestigates the massacre of an entire religious sect, catapulting her into a treacherous storm of politics, conspiracy and self-discovery. Her quest for justice leads her into the heart of a universal struggle and toward an unbearable truth she’s hidden from herself since she murdered an innocent man.

“I just finished and thoroughly enjoyed “Outer Diverse”. A metaphysical, Sci Fi, Thriller with rich characters. Dawn Harvey told the story brilliantly and played the characters wonderfully. Definitely worth listening to.” –Dan Wallace, narrator, Lions Den Productions.

“I am absolutely thrilled to recommend Nina Munteanu’s audio book. Dawn has transported me into a new world of imagination. She is absolutely magic in her skill of character building; her voices are amazing. To me nothing is finer than Nina the writer and Dawn doing the voice overs in the audio book. I can’t wait until I read and hear more in the future.” –Vanessa Rottner

“A master of metaphor, Munteanu turns an adventure story into a wonderland of alien rabbit holes… a fascinating and enthralling read.” –Craig Bowlsby, author of Commander’s Log – Read More

“A rollicking science fiction plot with all the trappings…Hawke is a maverick in the wild west tradition…a genetic mystery with lethal powers.” –Lynda Williams, author of Okal Rel series – Read More

SF Canada Awards $500 to Éric Gauthier

montreelAt the 29th Boréal Convention in Quebec City on May 6, 2012, Éric Gauthier was awarded the Prix Aurora-Boréal for his fantasy novel, Montréel (Alire), accompanied by the SF Canada Award of $500. For over 30 years, Canadian fans of speculative fiction have been voting on the Aurora and Boréal awards to acknowledge the best of Canadian professional and fan activity in both official languages.

Gauthier, a seasoned storyteller who captures the attention of his readers by offering a Montreal almost unrecognizable in a world of magic and ghosts, was also awarded the Prix Jacques-Brossard for the same work.

http://ericgauthier.net/

Shadowborn (Alison Sinclair) released in paperback

On May 1, ROC (Penguin) released the mass market paperback of SFCanada member Alison Sinclair’s Shadowborn, third book in the trilogy that began with Darkborn (2009) and continued with Lightborn (2010). Shadowborn was first published in trade paperback June 2011.

Darkborn_titles_montage

For the Darkborn, the touch of sunlight kills, while darkness is lethal for the Lightborn. For centuries, the two have lived in an uneasy peace, sharing the same city but never meeting. Now, with the rise of the Shadowborn, everything is about to change…

Condemned to death by the Darkborn for practicing sorcery, Lady Telmaine Hearne escaped her fate and is now bound with her mageborn allies for the Borders—and the war brewing there.

Also on the frontlines of the battle between Darkborn and Shadowborn is the assassin Floria White Hand, desperately maneuvering between allies and enemies to bring her Lightborn prince home safe.

The fragile alliance between Lightborn and Darkborn, between mage and non-mage, is endangered. The mage Tammorn is forced to become ambassador to the enemy. And a lifetime fighting the Shadowborn has not prepared Ishmael di Studier for what he will find when he follows the Call from the Shadowlands—and meets the woman behind it…

Read the opening chapter of Shadowborn.