Dark Corridor by Jennifer Rahn now out!

SF Canada member Jennifer Rahn’s new release from Bundoran Press is a science fiction law enforcement adventure and the second, stand-alone novel set in the Sphairan Universe. Dark Corridor follows the career of Special Investigator Adynn Sheffield as she pushes back against the crime lords who have destroyed the last of her family. After being pulled from a case, she’s assigned to discover the route through which tech, unlike anything anyone has seen before, is suddenly coming through the black markets. Having grown up on a rough world, she’s savvy to the workings of the drug and pirate trades, however political machinations and her own recklessness force her to go rogue and join forces with corporations of dubious repute and space Vikings.

Dark Corridor’s fast prose delivers an imaginative and evocative look at an invasive cyberpunk world.”   –Derek Künsken, author of The Quantum Magician

Jennifer is also happy to announce that the first two novels in the Legends of Temlocht fantasy series have been re-released by Dragon Moon Press.

Wicked Initiations begins the series with the tale of Vladdir, King of the underground Temlochti State, when he is cast out into the Desert as his kingdom is invaded by Aragoths — strange soldiers controlled by the Sorcerer Ilet, who has made no demands and is destroying everything without reason. On the brink of losing everything, Vladdir gives in to a curse that fills him with cannibalistic desires, and gains him access to the capricious, dark magic of the Desert. With his new powers, he overwhelms the nearly indestructible Aragoths — but finds that Ilet was not the Aragoth commander at all. His true enemy is the mysterious Desert Priest, who taps into Vladdir’s curse to ensure the King will never know peace, and to make him pay for the near obliteration of the Aragoths with all he holds dear.

In the second volume, The Longevity Thesis, Desert orphan Antronos is subjected to dark magic that force-merges him with reptiles. Considered exotic by some, repulsive by others, he finds acceptance and respect in the underground civilization of the Temlochti State when he earns the right to practise medicine. Wishing to further his achievement, he enters a graduate program studying longevity.

Duped into an act of murder, Antronos must fight to prevent more harm to his rich and powerful clientele—some of whom he feels connected to, perhaps from a previous life. Desperate to prevent losing the family he never knew he had, Antronos must outsmart Sen Vernus, the most devious and evil professor in the University’s history and unravel a curse that has spanned generations.

Jennifer Rahn is a scientist and author living in Calgary. She is on Twitter (@jennrahn), Instagram (jjrahn70) and Facebook (@rahnbooks).

Sarah Tolmie’s The Little Animals

SF Canada member Sarah Tolmie has recently released a new novel, The Little Animals.

Antoni van Leeuwenhoek, a quiet linen draper in Delft, has discovered a new world: the world of the little animals, or animalcules, that he sees through his simple microscopes. These tiny creatures are everywhere, even inside us. But who will believe him? Not his wife, not his neighbours, not his fellow merchants—only his friend Reinier De Graaf, a medical doctor. Then he meets an itinerant goose girl at the market who lives surrounded by tiny, invisible voices. Are these the animalcules also? Leeuwenhoek and the girl form a curious alliance, and gradually the lives of the little animals infiltrate everything around them: Leeuwenhoek’s cloth business, the art of his friend Johannes Vermeer, the nascent sex trade, and people’s religious certainties. But Leeuwenhoek also needs to cement his reputation as a natural philosopher, and for that he needs the Royal Society of London—a daunting challenge, indeed, for a Dutch draper who can’t communicate in Latin.

Publishers Weekly’s starred review says:

Tolmie intricately weaves together the best of historical and weird fiction in this delicate tale of science and miracles…Tolmie balances careful characterization with rich historical detail, subtle humor, and energetic prose. Her central characters are suffused with color, and her prose captures the joys and uncertainties of life-changing discoveries. This delightful novel is not to be missed.

The Little Animals is available in trade paperback and ebook from
Aqueduct Press and its partner bookstores and distributors
amazon.com/amazon.ca
Barnes & Noble

And Sarah has more exciting news! She was recently one of seven finalists for Canada’s Griffin Poetry Prize, one of Canada’s most prestigious literary awards. Sarah’s The Art of Dying, published by McGill-Queen’s University Press, was praised by the jury as a “multifaceted meditation on mortality beneath its deceptively simple lyric surface.” The author herself was singled out as an “irreverent feminist” in the tradition of Dorothy Parker and Stevie Smith. “The Art of Dying” is available through McGill-Queen’s University Press , Indigo, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.

And even more news! Sarah’s poem, “Ursula Le Guin in the Underworld” (On Spec issue 107 vol 28.4) is nominated for the Aurora Award in the Best Poem/Song category. Find out how to vote here.

Sarah is an Associate Professor in the English Department of the University of Waterloo. She received her PhD at Cambridge. Her work with virtual reality and dance explores links between movement and proprioception the body’s sense of itself and its limits in space and narrative and poetic structures and pathways.

Find more of Sarah’s poetry and fiction at her website.

A Magical Inheritance by Krista D. Ball

SF Canada member Krista D. Ball’s 22nd published book is a historical fantasy. “A Magical Inheritance” is the first in the Ladies’ Occult Society series. Miss Elizabeth Knight received an unexpected legacy upon her uncle’s death: a collection of occult books. However, when one of the books begins talking to her, she discovers an entire world of female occultist history opened to her—a legacy the Royal Occult Society had purposely hidden from the world.

However, the magic allowing the book to speak to Miss Knight is fading and she must gather a group of female acquaintances of various talents. Together, they’ll need to work to overcome social pressures, ambitious men, and tyrannical parents, all to bring Mrs. Egerton, the book ghost, back.

“If you like fantasy of manners, books featuring friendships between women, or books about sorting books, this is a book you’re going to want to check out.”                – https://waytoofantasy.com/

Krista is a Canadian science fiction and fantasy author. She was born and raised in Newfoundland, Canada where she learned how to use a chainsaw, chop wood,and make raspberry jam. After obtaining a B.A. in British History from Mount Allison University, Krista moved to Alberta, Canada where she currently lives.

Like any good writer, Krista has had an eclectic array of jobs throughout her life, including strawberry picker, pub bathroom cleaner, oil spill cleaner upper, and soup kitchen coordinator. These days, when Krista isn’t software testing, she writes in her messy office. She loves company! Come visit at http://kristadball.com or follow her on Twitter .

Purchase “A Magical Inheritance” at on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo, and support Krista’s Patreon at https://www.patreon.com/kristadb1.

Tesseracts 22: Alchemy and Artifacts now out!

SF Canada member Lorina Stephens (along with co-editor Susan MacGregor) has edited the latest edition of the Tesseracts series: Alchemy and Artifacts. The ebook is available now; the print version will follow in September 2019.

The 22nd issue of this iconic Canadian speculative fiction anthology is a collection of twenty-three amazing stories based on historical artifacts combined with fantastic historical fiction. The stories meld culture, concept and incident into a rich collection of ‘what if’ speculations that provide warnings yet revel in the cultural celebrations we continue to observe today. They are the touchstones that resonate with all who listen to and learn from the past.

It includes the following stories by SF Canada members:

Order Alchemy and Artifacts (Tesseracts Twenty-Two) from Edge Publishing today!

New issue of the Colored Lens

Two SF Canada members have short stories in the Spring 2019 issue of The Colored Lens Speculative Fiction Magazine.

Kristin Janz’s “The Hungry Ghosts” contains an interesting mix of profanity, sex, Christianity, and a protagonist who’s already dead. The basis was Kristin’s application story for the esteemed Clarion West workshop in 2008.

Kristin writes within many genres and sub-genres with a particular fondness for high fantasy. As well as being a Clarion West alumni, she was a Writers of the Future finalist in 2015, and currently serves on the board of directors of SF Canada. She is the co-owner of Enigmatic Mirror Press (along with her husband Donald S. Crankshaw) which publishes the Mysterion online magazine.

Geoffrey W. Cole’s “The Memetic Vaccine” is a detective tale about a Koro epidemic catching in a lunar colony. To learn what Koro is, you might have to google it; however Geoff warns that googling Koro is one of the risk factors for contracting Koro — beware!

Geoff has a certificate in creative writing through The Writers Studio program at Simon Fraser University and a Masters of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from the University of British Columbia. He also has degrees in Biology, Mechanical Engineering, Beer Slinging, and Rock and/or Roll.

Purchase this issue of the Colored Lens today!

More in the Cauldron Effect series by Shereen Vedam

Further to the success of Coven at Callington (The Cauldron Effect #1), SF Canada member Shereen Vedam has released the next two books in this magical regency romance series.

Warlock from Wales (The Cauldron Effect #2) involves a historian in search of truth, and a warlock charged to stop her.

In the year of our Lord 1816, eighteen-year-old historian Mary Bryght is accosted by a terrifying magical villain who threatens to destroy her brother if he doesn’t reject his latest royal commission. Rushing home, she discovers that not only is she too late to stop her brother, but he’s left a letter begging her to assist him by recording the details of a three-centuries-old stunning secret event.

At his father’s death, Hugh Renfrew Price is yanked from his warlock apprenticeship by the Warlock Council and ordered to take up his father’s mantle as Earl of Flint. If attending boring House of Lords sessions to spy on human politicians wasn’t a bad enough chore, the Prince Regent then instructs Hugh to safeguard a human female on a mission the Warlock Council insists Hugh must sabotage. However, when he meets his delightful charge, Hugh decides that life may not be so terrible after all.

Just as Hugh starts to enjoy his latest assignment, another warlock, partnered with a voracious water demon, steals Mary from under Hugh’s nose. Recovering her becomes his greatest challenge, while Mary learns that not all Warlocks are created equal. Yet, how can she trust Hugh after she learns he’s out to stop her mission? Finding love in this mire of intrigue will take more than magic. It might just require some unique human ingenuity.

If you enjoy stories where humans match wits against supernatural might, you’ll love this magical chase across a Regency-English Countryside to preserve the integrity of history.

Love Spell in London (The Cauldron Effect #3) follows the path of a warlock who insists on reclaiming his stolen hell hounds. Grace, a thieving witch, devises a way to outwit him. But warlocks are a dangerous breed and Grace may have chewed off more than she can handle. This novel is available in a new SF and Fantasy boxed set called Rogue Skies.

Find all three books in the Cauldron Effect series on Shereen’s website.