CZP Launches John Park’s Janus

JPJanusJohn Park’s novel Janus was launched by CZP on September 22 at Can*Con in Ottawa.

Psychological drama, mystery, Janus is both violent and lyrical as it follows conflicts of love and identity to a bitter climax and a somberly optimistic conclusion.

In the near future, Jon Grebbel arrives on the colony world of Janus and finds himself without memory of his life on Earth. It seems the journey has caused memory loss in many of Janus’s colonists. While Grebbel wants to start his new life, he wants his memory back, and starts treatments to restore his past. But he begins to doubt the glimpses of the past they reveal.

He meets Elinda, an earlier arrival, whose lover, Barbara, vanished and then was found lying in the woods apparently brain-damaged. Elinda has also lost her memories of Earth, but unlike Grebbel has abandoned the effort to recover them. Now their meeting brings them a glimpse of an experience they shared  back on Earth. . . .

From the front cover:

“In the tradition of Delany, Sturgeon, and Le Guin, but taking his place among contemporary voices like Watts, Vonarburg, Schroeder, and Huff, John Park brings strength, intelligence, and grace of narrative to bear in this novel of relationship and estrangement.”

          —Candas Jane Dorsey, author of Black Wine and A Paradigm of Earth,

                                   and winner of the Aurora, Tiptree, and Crawford Awards

Listed by Kirkus among “worthy runners-up” for the “can’t-miss” fantasy and science fiction books of October 2012.

where to buy Janushttp://chizinepub.com/books/janus.php

SF Canada Supports Canadian Conventions

sfcSF Canada is proud to provide financial support to SF conventions across Canada.

Vancouver’s science fiction and fantasy convention, VCON 37: “Post Apocalypse,” will be held Sept. 28-30 in Surrey, B.C.

When Words Collide is held every August in Calgary, Alberta, and hosted the Aurora Awards this past summer.

Toronto SpecFic Colloquium, is upcoming Oct. 28, “Beyond the Human.”

Can*Con, The Canadian Conference on Canadian Content in Speculative Arts and Literature, will be held Sept. 21-23 in Ottawa, Ontario (and will be hosting the Aurora Awards in 2013!)

Check out these links to connect with the literary community in your area, meet SF authors and buy the latest books.

SF Canada supports positive social action.

SF Canada Awards $500 to Robert J. Sawyer

The 31st annual Canvention was held on November 20, 2011 at SFContario 2 in Toronto, Ontario, where Aurora Awards were presented in nine categories as voted by Canadian fans of speculative fiction. The 2011 Aurora Award for Best Novel in English went to Robert J. Sawyer for his novel Watch, along with the SF Canada Award of $500 which is presented annually in support of the Aurora and Aurora/Boréal Awards to recognize excellence in speculative literature in both Canadian languages. Robert J. Sawyer has a long history of success as an author, including American Nebula Award, Worldcon Hugo Award, John W. Campbell Memorial Award, Japanese Seiun Award, Chinese Galaxy Award, and multiple Canadian Aurora Awards. A ceremonial cheque was presented by the President of SF Canada, Steve Stanton.

aurora2011

SF Canada Supports Speculative Fiction

sfcSF Canada will be sponsoring a Dealer Table at Vancouver’s Convention of Science Fiction and Fantasy again this year, and a party for members at an undisclosed location. Books by members will be on display and/or for sale from September 30 – October 2 at Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel. Complete convention information is available from VCON.

SF Canada is also pleased to support the Toronto SpecFic Colloquium on October 15 at the Toronto Underground Cinema, featuring talks from major science-fiction, fantasy and horror authors. The theme for 2011 is “Modern Mythologies.”