K.V. Johansen at LonCon 3

LonCon3K.V. Johansen will be attending LONCON 3 (the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention) in London UK, from August 14-18, where she will be on panels discussing “Crossing Boundaries: Histories of International SF/F for Children”, “Sense of Wonder in Children’s SF”, and “YA Fiction: The History of a Genre”, as well as being available at a kaffeeklatsch where readers and writers can meet.

Right before LONCON, Johansen will be a class leader at the Science Fiction Foundation’s annual Masterclass in Science Fiction Criticism, held at the Royal Observatory, Greenwich, August 11-13.

Johansen’s latest novel, The Leopard, was published in June by Pyr, to be followed in December by part two of the epic fantasy: The Lady.
For more about Johansen’s writing and her participation in LONCON 3, see her blog, her website, or her alternate website for children’s & YA books.

This tour is supported by the New Brunswick Arts Board | Cette tournée est soutenue par le Conseil des arts du Nouveau-Brunswick
ArtsNB

SF Canada Awards $1000 to Tanya Huff

JLTrudelTSHuff2013AJean-Louis Trudel presents Tanya Huff with a ceremonial cheque.
(Photo by Jonathan Crowe)

The Aurora Award for Best Novel, accompanied by the SF Canada Award of $1000, was given to Tanya Huff in Ottawa on October 6, 2013 for her fantasy novel The Silvered, published by DAW Books. Born in Nova Scotia but now living in rural Ontario with her wife Fiona Patton, Tanya Huff is one of Canada’s most important and best loved fantasy authors. Since her first professional sale to Amazing Stories in 1985, she has published over thirty books and a number of short stories. Her “Blood Books” series was adapted as the television series Blood Ties in 2007. Her award-winning novel features magicians and shapeshifting werewolves united against a steampunk empire, and has been well received by readers and critics alike.

The 2013 Conference on Canadian Content in Speculative Arts and Literature played host to the 33rd national Canadian convention of science fiction and fantasy, also known as Canvention. Ten other Aurora Awards were announced. The fantasy adventure Under My Skin (in the “Wildlings” series) by Charles de Lint won the Aurora Award for Best YA Novel. Published in On Spec, the fantasy tale “The Walker of the Shifting Borderland” by Douglas Smith won the award for best short fiction. David Clink’s poem “A sea monster tells his story” in The Literary Review of Canada won for Best Poem or Song. The webcomic Weregeek by Alina Pete won the Aurora for best graphic novel while the award for best related work went to the anthology Blood and Water edited by Hayden Trenholm for Bundoran Press. Finally, Erik Mohr received the Aurora Award for Best Artist, honouring his covers for ChiZine Publications. The remaining Aurora Awards went to fans contributing to the speculative fiction community across Canada, and the Aurora-Boréal awards for works in French were given out earlier this year in Montreal.

SF Canada Awards $500 to Ariane Gélinas

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Jean-Louis Trudel of SF Canada hands Ariane Gélinas, the winner of the Aurora-Boréal Award for best novel, a presentation cheque for $500. / Au nom de SF Canada, Jean-Louis Trudel remet à Ariane Gélinas, la lauréate du Prix Aurora-Boréal du meilleur roman, un chèque de 500 $.

Montréal, 10 mai 2013 — Dans le cadre du trentième congrès Boréal, les prix Aurora/Boréal ont été décernés le 5 mai 2013 à Montréal.  Parrainés par SFSF Boréal Inc. et l’Association canadienne de la science-fiction et du fantastique, ces prix récompensaient les œuvres produites en français par des Canadiens en 2012 dans les genres de l’imaginaire (science-fiction, fantastique, fantasy) à l’issue d’un vote ouvert à tous les amateurs de ces genres.

Le prix Aurora-Boréal du meilleur roman a été décerné à Ariane Gélinas pour son roman Transtaïga, le premier volume d’un ouvrage intitulé Les villages assoupis que publient les éditions du Marchand de feuilles.   La lauréate a également reçu un prix en argent de 500 $ remis par SF Canada, l’association nationale des créateurs professionnels de la science-fiction et du fantastique.

Le prix Aurora-Boréal de la meilleure nouvelle a été décerné à Geneviève Blouin pour le récit Le Chasseur, publié par les éditions des Six Brumes sous la forme d’une plaquette.

Le prix Aurora-Boréal du meilleur ouvrage connexe a été remis à la revue Solaris, la plus ancienne au Canada dans son genre.  Le prix a été accepté par Joël Champetier, le rédacteur en chef de Solaris.

Le prix Boréal de la création artistique/audiovisuelle a été remis à Ève Chabot pour ses illustrations parues dans la revue Brins d’éternité.  Le prix Boréal de la fanédition a d’ailleurs été remis à Brins d’éternité, qui a amorcé en 2012 une transition qui l’a fait passer de fanzine en début d’année à revue professionnelle en fin d’année.  Enfin, le prix Boréal de la création sur place a été accordé à deux auteurs qui ont complété en une heure une nouvelle digne de mention.  Dans la catégorie des auteurs professionnels, Geneviève Blouin a obtenu le prix pour sa nouvelle « Trou noir de mémoire ».  Dans la catégorie des auteurs montants, Dave Côté l’a obtenu pour sa nouvelle « Brouillard ».

— — —

Montréal, 10 May 2013 — The Aurora/Boréal Awards were announced in Montréal on May 5, 2013, as part of the 30th Boréal convention.  Sponsored by SFSF Boréal Inc. and the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association, they recognize the best works produced in French by Canadians in 2012 in the speculative genres as determined by a vote open to all who wish to take part.

The Aurora-Boréal Award for best novel was given to Ariane Gélinas for her novel Transtaïga, the first volume of a larger work, Les villages assoupis [The Sleeping Villages], published by Marchand de feuilles.  She also received a $500 prize provided by SF Canada, Canada’s national association of speculative fiction professionals.

The Aurora-Boréal Award for best short fiction went to Geneviève Blouin for her novella Le Chasseur [The Hunter], published by Six Brumes as a standalone book.

The Aurora-Boréal Award for best related work was given to Solaris, the oldest genre magazine in Canada.  The award was accepted by Joël Champetier, the magazine’s editor in chief.

The Boréal award for artistic and audiovisual achievement went to Ève Chabot for her illustrations in the magazine Brins d’éternité.  Indeed, the Boréal award for best fan publication was given to Brins d’éternité, which began the year 2012 as a fanzine and upgraded to professional status by the end of the year.  Finally, the Boréal award for the one-hour writing contest at the convention was shared between Geneviève Blouin for her short story “Trou noir de mémoire” [Memory Black Hole], in the professional author category, and Dave Côté for his short story “Brouillard” [Mist], in the rising author category.

CZP Launches John Park’s Janus

JPJanusJohn Park’s novel Janus was launched by CZP on September 22 at Can*Con in Ottawa.

Psychological drama, mystery, Janus is both violent and lyrical as it follows conflicts of love and identity to a bitter climax and a somberly optimistic conclusion.

In the near future, Jon Grebbel arrives on the colony world of Janus and finds himself without memory of his life on Earth. It seems the journey has caused memory loss in many of Janus’s colonists. While Grebbel wants to start his new life, he wants his memory back, and starts treatments to restore his past. But he begins to doubt the glimpses of the past they reveal.

He meets Elinda, an earlier arrival, whose lover, Barbara, vanished and then was found lying in the woods apparently brain-damaged. Elinda has also lost her memories of Earth, but unlike Grebbel has abandoned the effort to recover them. Now their meeting brings them a glimpse of an experience they shared  back on Earth. . . .

From the front cover:

“In the tradition of Delany, Sturgeon, and Le Guin, but taking his place among contemporary voices like Watts, Vonarburg, Schroeder, and Huff, John Park brings strength, intelligence, and grace of narrative to bear in this novel of relationship and estrangement.”

          —Candas Jane Dorsey, author of Black Wine and A Paradigm of Earth,

                                   and winner of the Aurora, Tiptree, and Crawford Awards

Listed by Kirkus among “worthy runners-up” for the “can’t-miss” fantasy and science fiction books of October 2012.

where to buy Janushttp://chizinepub.com/books/janus.php

SF Canada Supports Canadian Conventions

sfcSF Canada is proud to provide financial support to SF conventions across Canada.

Vancouver’s science fiction and fantasy convention, VCON 37: “Post Apocalypse,” will be held Sept. 28-30 in Surrey, B.C.

When Words Collide is held every August in Calgary, Alberta, and hosted the Aurora Awards this past summer.

Toronto SpecFic Colloquium, is upcoming Oct. 28, “Beyond the Human.”

Can*Con, The Canadian Conference on Canadian Content in Speculative Arts and Literature, will be held Sept. 21-23 in Ottawa, Ontario (and will be hosting the Aurora Awards in 2013!)

Check out these links to connect with the literary community in your area, meet SF authors and buy the latest books.

SF Canada supports positive social action.

SF Canada Awards $500 to Robert J. Sawyer

The 31st annual Canvention was held on November 20, 2011 at SFContario 2 in Toronto, Ontario, where Aurora Awards were presented in nine categories as voted by Canadian fans of speculative fiction. The 2011 Aurora Award for Best Novel in English went to Robert J. Sawyer for his novel Watch, along with the SF Canada Award of $500 which is presented annually in support of the Aurora and Aurora/Boréal Awards to recognize excellence in speculative literature in both Canadian languages. Robert J. Sawyer has a long history of success as an author, including American Nebula Award, Worldcon Hugo Award, John W. Campbell Memorial Award, Japanese Seiun Award, Chinese Galaxy Award, and multiple Canadian Aurora Awards. A ceremonial cheque was presented by the President of SF Canada, Steve Stanton.

aurora2011